2009 Big Break Winners & Finalists

The winners of the 2009 Final Draft Big Break Contest have been announced. These scripts were read and ranked by our panel of industry judges. The three finalists were flown to Los Angeles where they attended the Final Draft Annual Award Event on October 14th at the Paley Center for Media in Beverly Hills where their places were announced. In addition to their trip and red-carpet awards ceremony, they enjoyed cash prizes and meetings with industry leaders.

  • First Place: Wyatt Wakeman of West Hollywood, CA for Borderland
  • Second Place: Kevin Lee Miller of Los Angeles, CA for Trigger Mom
  • Third Place: Karen Briner of Los Angeles, CA for Amanzi

To contact these winners or any of our finalists, please email us here.

To learn about our exciting success stories over the past decade, click here.

Thank you for your support of the Big Break Contest! We look forward to adding the 2009 winners to our growing list of success stories.

Top 10 Finalists
  • Nathan Blackwell Transgalactic Zoo
  • Karen Briner Amanzi
  • Mary Casavant Judgey
  • Robert Jason Clark Awaken
  • Michael Ennis Bobby & Dawn
  • Craig Houchin Ludlow
  • Rob Leininger Tough Kids
  • Kevin Lee Miller Trigger Mom
  • Wyatt Wakeman Minus Men
  • Wyatt Wakeman Borderland
Top Semifinalists
  • Joseph Balczo Abducting Christmas
  • Richard Flynn Darlin’ Pretty
  • Christopher Krumlauf & Juan Castro Dickie Feldman
  • Josephine Mackerras Skin
  • Ben McCracken Repeating Reprisals
  • Alasdair McMullan Jesse James V. Jack The Ripper
  • Gia Milani All The Wrong Reasons
  • Benjamin Odell The Lion
  • Rob Rex Atom Bravo
  • Dave Shramek Dudley Charles
Dear Screenwriters: Supporting you is our top priority, but due to the effects of COVID-19 response times are running considerably longer. Please be patient, stay well, and keep writing!